PDA

View Full Version : Total noob to mini moto

v6scorpion
31-05-2011, 10:38 PM
Ok just bought one for my son, it didn't work an i was assured just needed a new carburetor as one on had big crack at bottom.Anyway bought one along with some new tire's, spark plug, fuel filter, toe pegs and 2 gaskets.Started to build it back together but isn't starting still, so i thought id test for a spark as rest i think its getting.The spark isnt a big spark but there is a little spark, how good an bright should the spark be?

jibberwobble
31-05-2011, 11:02 PM
Are you looking for a value in lumins or what?

It should be similar to any bike, lawn mower or car if you want a reference.

v6scorpion
31-05-2011, 11:05 PM
Update,looking through this forum its a CAG too.so im guessing it should be a good strong bright spark too as its just noticable is the spark

jibberwobble
01-06-2011, 12:39 AM
Update,looking through this forum its a CAG too.so im guessing it should be a good strong bright spark too as its just noticable is the spark

:confuse::confuse:WTF, It's twighlight zone in here tonight, call the men in white coats!:confuse::confuse:

v6scorpion
01-06-2011, 07:59 AM
Anyone help me as to how strong the spark should be,should it be a good hard bright spark or just a little bright ish spark

FERRINO
01-06-2011, 08:50 AM
As Jibber has said - it should just be a normal spark. They can very in brightness - but should still ignite your fuel mix.

Cag's are cheaply made poor quality (on the whole) Chinese bikes. They are cheap to buy because they use inferior quality materials in their construction. This will also apply to the ignition coil. It may not produce as bright a spark as a coil from a genuine bike. What is the gap set to on your plug? One other thing to check is that your plug is actually getting wet when you pull the engine over. If it's not your fuel may not be even reaching the plug (you have got the fuel tap in the right position haven't you?